GmbH’s ASICS GEL-CHAPPAL Is More Than a Smart-Casual Sneaker

Serhat Isik and Benjamin Alexander Huseby's progressive Berlin-based label GmbH is continuing its partnership with ASICS with the release of its latest Fall/Winter 2020 runway shoe: the GEL-CHAPPAL.

Introducing an entirely new silhouette, the GmbH x ASICS GEL-CHAPPAL combines the footwear giant's signature technical GEL sole unit with a vegan leather upper that transcends smart-casual forms. In an aim to juxtapose history and modernity, GmbH combines a criss-cross strap upper that's inspired by a Peshwari chappal (a traditional sandal from Pakistan) and couples this with house design cues and the aforementioned GEL sole unit.

The result is not a formal shoe, nor a sneaker. While the color palette of black or burgundy, coupled with its sophisticated vegan leather strap upper, may echo the likes of a moccasin or a driving shoe, elements such as the metal branding on the mid-panels, its almond toe and muted branding on the tongue lean towards more of a sneaker.

Elsewhere around the GEL-CHAPPAL, you'll find a rear heel clip finished with GEL branding, as well as dual-branded vegan leather insoles.

The GmbH x ASICS GEL-CHAPPAL can be seen above and is releasing exclusively on GmbH's website later on today at 1 p.m. CET (12 p.m. GMT/7 a.m. ET). A wider release will come on December 10 at selected retailers worldwide.

In other news, Our Legacy has dropped its Mono Runner in silver.

Click here to view full gallery at HYPEBEAST

Continue Reading at https://hypebeast.com/

Comments are closed.

Designed by OhhWord Media